Toxic Friendship

Hey Everyone,

Have you ever experienced toxic friendship? That friendship that felt like the best thing in the world and that became the most miserable time of your life at the end of it. Well I will share with you my experience and maybe some of you will relate.

Will call this girl Mary. Mary and I have been friends for 11 years, she was my first ever best friend we really clicked when we first met each other at 5 years old, for a couple of years after we lost contact but ended up accidentally going to same school (grade 7) where our friendship became even stronger, at least that’s what I thought. We’ve been hanging out 24/7 and she was like a sister to me.

A couple of years later a new girl came to our school and we’ve been hanging out all together the three of us, but then Maria became friends with a very dodgy group of people, and from the most amazing, caring, friendly girl she changed into a drinking clubbing person. And I would tell her about it here and there because it was definitely a shock to me.

Guessing that she didn’t quite like my “unsupportive”attitude she became really distant at school, we practically stoped talking, but we were still hanging out all the time outside and it was as if I knew two Marys.

And then in the beginning of summer I decided to talk to her about that. It seemed like she’s gone mad, she took it as if I’ve been accusing her in murder. The whole summer was hell I was extremely upset about the whole situation and wanted to fix it somehow but it seemed like she jumped at the opportunity of not being friends with meΒ 

Putting down some details that would take too long to write down I’ll go to the ending

At the end of summer she wrote me a huge letter saying how she’s been trying to stop being friends from year 9 and how I didn’t let her distance herself from me and that now finally we won’t have to be friends anymore.

And that truly broke me, I mean completely. Then I realized why people say that ending a friendship is harder that a relationship. We won’t back to school in September and maybe 10-20 types been together face to face just the two of us and said nothing. We haven’t talked for 10 months. She came back but earlier and started spreading rumors about me with another girl who she used to hate.

I pretty much was crying every night until January and it was a first time when I experienced anxiety which again I haven’t talled anyone about. Mary made school hell for me. I’ve been skipping weeks of school because I just couldn’t face these people.

Thankfully I met really good friends this year but nothing in comparison to what we had. I guess it just takes time. And yes both of us were wrong. And yes I should’ve ended this friendship much earlier but I couldn’t I felt like I was addicted to the point where it took me almost a year to get over her and even know I feel extremely emotional when I remember us

Anyway, I don’t even know if I will ever post this, and if I do I’m sorry for such a long rumbling on I just never really told anyone about this.

Girl Enters xx

9 thoughts on “Toxic Friendship

  1. Blue Settia says:

    Hey
    I found this blog and wanted to read it because I recently went though a similar situation with my “friend”…
    “Then I realized why people say that ending a friendship is harder that a relationship. “–this. I agree with this 100%. It is definitely much harder. We connect to our friends on a level our lovers will never meet.
    I understand your pain, and you are not alone. It does take time to find peace with the situation. Just know it’s for the better.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Girl Enters says:

      Thank you so much for your support it really means alot to me, and yeah, hopefully I will get over it soon, at the end of the day haven’t got much choice… But thank you again you x

      Like

  2. blacksans101 says:

    I’m so happy you decided to post this, you’re helping so many people by being so brave. I can relate to this so much, as can so many others. I’m so sorry you went through this and hope that you’ve made new friends, always remember no matter how bad things seem, they will always get better! Would love if you could check out my blog where I discuss similar things as you, hence why I can relate to this so much! https://mygrowingpains101blog.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. superwifeandmummy says:

    Glad you did post it. Toxic friends (and people in general ) are so damaging to our spirits and yet so difficult to rid ourselves of.
    It’s a tough hurdle to overcome but provides you with invaluable inner strength.
    I’m following you, by the the way. (I was giggling about he fact that I welcomed you when you’ve been here longer πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚)
    Great blog- very honest voice 😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

