Staying on the topic of stress…

8b8f9d08754c70cb7c424b8a4b4c638e                                                       source

Hey Everyone,

I would like to continue the topic of stress from my previous post – Beating Exam Stress

But this time I want to talk about PERFORMING. Performing on stage, playing an instrument, making a speech.

Now hear me out, I love acting, I’ve been acting pretty much my whole life – and when i’m on stage and there are huge audience, I don’t care, because at that moment, I’m not me. I love that feeling of freedom and being able to do pretty much whatever you want and not care for once if you look ridiculous.

Now, if you will ask me to play piano in front of people, or try to film/record me playing piano, I will literary freak out. I start feeling sick and it’s as if my brain just freezes and I look at the score, and see nothing.

It’s a bit different with publick speaking, I can’t say that I love it or hate it, I feel like it’s something that everyone has to do at some point in their life. Luckily in my school we had to do public speaking every year for a few weeks, and that definitely thought me how to control my emotions during the speech and stay calm. So, in case you are looking for a tip, I would suggest to practice – practice – practice, because only that way you will be able to excel it.

Here are some more tips on how to overcome “STAGE FRIGHT”:

  • Set the time when you’re allowed to be nervous. Remember that you are not allowed to be nervous after a spesific time on the day of the performance.
  • Exercise or go for a walk 1 hour before the performance
  • Imagine your favorite person (your crush) in the audience; you would always want to “shine” in front of your crush 😉
  • Talk to the audience, and people who are performing with you, but don’t tell them that you’re nervous

Comment down below if you get anxious before your performances and how do you deal with a stage fright?

Girl Enters x

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

One thought on “Staying on the topic of stress…

  1. Mabel Kwong says:

    Like you, I don’t like people watching or filming me. Maybe that’s just the introvert in me. I tend to calm down when I focus on projecting my words, focus on speaking slowly and with authority, like I know what I am saying 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

