Spring Break + packing tips

Marble Luggage from CALPAK:

                                             source

Hey Everyone,

So, spring break is coming and obviously we have got to study for our upcoming exams.

Just kidding, let’s be real here, obviously studying is important, but most of you are probably going away for holidays, and since the spring bring is usually around two weeks long, you’ve got to take quite a lot of things with you.

Here are some tips and suggestions for packing that I like to use when I travel:

  • Roll clothes instead of folding

I feel like everyone says that, but you really need to try it if you haven’t yet. I can usually fit twice as much clothes if you roll it, especially if you have to take quite large sweaters and hoddies (yes, some people go to cold places in spring 😉 ).

  • Use small plastic cards for jewelry

You know the small cards you get with bobby pins? Wrap your bracelets and long necklaces around them, I can tell how many times, I just threw mine in to my make-up bag and then ended up spending hours untangling them.

  • Use small containers for hair products

Old make-up containers or pill bottles can be used, not all hotels offer shampoos or even body lotions, or you might just like your own shampoo. Instead of bringing huge (most likely half empty) containers with you hair products – save space.

  • How many?

6 tops, 3 jackets, 2 dresses, 4 bottoms, 3 pair of shoes. That is how much clothing you will probably use on your trip (and don’t you dare saying to yourself “But what if…”). Ok, I know I haven’t mentioned accessories, underwear, sleepwear and swimwear, but you can figure those out on your own 😉 how can I possibly limit you on accessories?

  • A game of tetris

Ever played “Tetris”? Well, packing is the same thing, put heavier things (shoes) along the walls of your suitcase and the thicker (rolled clothes in the middle. Then, light clothes (tops and dresses…) on top of the rolled ones, your make-up bags will go on top of shoes. Put your underwear and swimwear in the second compartment alongside with your books a computer and purses.

  • Make-up bag for lingerie?

Obviously you don’t want to get your underwear dirty and messed up with all your other clothes, this isn’t a very “space saving” hack, but using a make-up bag will help you keep your lingerie fresh and clean

  • What not to bring?

Quite an important question huh? So I wouldn’t suggest bringing these things because most probably you will find them in your hotel or will be able to buy: a towel, computer (if you’re taking a tablet or someone you’re going with, is taking a computer already), bottles with pills (put them in small divided containers instead, too many bags, too much make-up (I know there can’ be too much, but let’s be real, you don’t need that bronzer).

  • 1 for 2

Save space by putting your socks or chargers in to shoes, roll a hair straightener into you hoodie, put chargers in to a glasses case.

  • What to put into your carry-on bag?

An essential bag (keep it small, everyone knows, that you don’t need to look that good on the plane), glasses, lip balm, portable charger (I use it all the time), laptop, a book, snacks (very important), earphones, your phone and a small wallet, passport and a plane ticket. Don’t forget to always have a camera!

  • Extra bags

I prefer bringing a swim bag, because especially in the spring break, you would want to go swimming and then it’s always good to carry your swimwear in a special bag. If you want to save space, bring some normal plastic bags on your trip, you can store clothing in them to keep it clean on you way to the destination and your swimming suits on the way from the beach.

Have a great spring break; however you’re planning to spend it. Please leave a comment down below saying where and how are you going to spend you spring holidays.

Girl Enters xx

5 thoughts on “Spring Break + packing tips

  1. Rebekah says:

    Great post!! Really helpful for travel. I’m going to a beach (I don’t really feel comfortable saying where specifically), but I’m going to be at the pool a lot because it will probably be too cold on the beach XD

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Valerie Nguyen says:

    Hi babe, thanks for following me! I can’t wait to see more of your posts.

    I never thought about using a makeup bag for my lingerie! I always put them in the side pocket of my luggage but I might have to try your tip next time! Thanks for this. x

    Valerie // avecvalerie.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. flamingkate says:

    I’m travelling around Europe in 3 weeks and have been searching all over for packing tips as I am very much an over packer! I am always saying ‘what if’ but i’m only taking a backpack so I definitely need to decide what I need and not take 46 peices of jewelry and 23 make-up pallets!
    Thanks for the tips!

    Like

Leave a Reply

